Setting up Versions on a Digital Product

Digital Product Versions

Versions are different options that you can create for a digital product. The equivalent of these are Tiers for Memberships, and Variants for Physical products.

Versions can help you:

  • Sell multiple formats of the same product (for example, an ebook in MOBI, EPUB, and PDF formats, or a video in 1080p, 720p, and 360p resolutions),
  • Structure a digital product with multiple tiers, each tier offering a different combination of files,
  • Sell software with different license levels,
  • Offer an additional service on top of your digital product.

How to set up different versions of your product

To get started, go to your Products dashboard and select the product you’d like to add different versions to. In order to create versions of a product, you need to have more than one file in the product

Upload ALL the files associated with ALL versions of the product. Click Save changes.

After you've uploaded your files, scroll down to Versions and type your version name. The version name will be the name of the category that customers are choosing from. For example, if you upload several different file types, the version name should be “File type." Underneath, add your options. In this example, we're adding an additional pack of brushes so we're simply labeling our version as "Brush Sets." 

You can add a description to your options to show what each option contains. Click the checkmark when you're done.

Simply click Add Options to continue adding options. In this example we're offering a bonus add-on with additional Procreate brushes for an extra $2. You can add an additional price to each option by typing the value in the Additional Amount field. If there is only a limited quantity of a particular option, or you wish to limit sales of a certain option, enter the amount in the Quantity field. In this example, we have an unlimited quantity.

Next, click Select Files to choose the files you want associated with each option. For our bonus brush add-on we're including an extra file that the basic option doesn't include. 

You can send customers to a specific Version by selecting Share next to the title of the Version.

You can click on the corner of the preview box to view how your Product will appear and double check to make sure everything looks correct. Yep... looks great!

When setting up versions, keep in mind that unless you include a "none of the above" option, your customers must choose a version.

Also keep in mind that you won't be able to delete versions of your product after a sale of that version has been made (however, you will be able to edit the version's name and what files are included). 

This is because customers who’ve already purchased a version of your product need to be able to access the files attached to that version. If you delete the version, they won’t be able to do so. If you do want to make a version unavailable to future customers, you can limit the Quantity to 0. This way, customers will no longer be able to select this version when making a purchase.

Reorder Versions

If you want to change the order of how your Versions appear, hover over the left side of the Version and click and drag to the desired order. 

Reassign a Customer to a Different Version

Sometimes customers make a mistake and choose the wrong version or they want to change their order. Not to worry! We've added a feature so you can reassign customers to the correct version. 

Select Customers in the top of your navigation bar. Click on the customer whose tier you're looking to change.  

Scroll down to the version, select the pencil icon, and select the correct version. 

This does not charge or refund the customer, it simply changes their version. They will now have access to the files of that version. 

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us