Pre-Order Products

We're sorry to say that we've decided to deprecate pre-orders on Gumroad. They were rarely used and led to a lot of issues.

We believe it's better to create a new product instead, and just be explicit with your customers about what they're getting now and what they're getting later.

**Deprecated Functionality**

Existing pre-order products are still allowed to be released as before. On the specified time of release, Gumroad will charge your customers and send them a receipt, which will contain a download link to the product files. After your release date, the product will revert to the default product settings (i.e., when customers buy it, they will immediately receive a download link). 

You can change your release date at any time, and you can also manually release a pre-order product before the time of release, or afterwards.

Release the product manually

If you miss your release date, don't upload the product in time, or just want to release the product early, you can release the product manually.

To do this, go to your Share tab and click Release product, initiating the charging and distribution process. 

If you'd prefer to cancel your pre-order entirely, you can do that in your Customers tab.

After the Release Date

Once your product has been released, it will convert into a regular Gumroad product. You can, as with any other product, change the name, price, description, files, cover image, etc. at any time. Like with any other standard product, customers will be able to purchase it and immediately receive the files. 

Charging Customers

When a product is released, it takes about 24 hours to fully process all of your customers' cards and PayPal accounts. That means some customers will not have immediate access to the products the second that you release the product. We advise that you wait a day before sending out important updates to your customers - let everyone get charged first, then provide them with more information. You can always set up a Workflow to automatically send important messaging to customers after their purchases are completed. 

Not all of your customers' charges will succeed. Often times, especially if a customer pre-ordered several months ago, their credit card provider may block the purchase from going through. Or they might have changed credit cards and forgotten to update this on the purchase form. After 24 hours, we will send you an automated email with a list of the failed charges on your pre-order release. You can then directly contact these customers and have them buy the product again. If you've raised the price of the product since they pre-ordered it, you can give them an offer code to reduce the price again. 

Sometimes customers will be confused whether or not they have been charged. Their credit card statement might show a "pending" charge that's actually failed. To verify whether or not a customer has been charged, you can: 

1) Export a CSV of all of your sales from the Customers tab

2) Find the customer's email address in the CSV

3) Scroll to column AD, titled "Pre-Order Authorization?" - If this column has a 1 in it for this customer's entry, that means their charge is just a pre-order authorization. That is not a real charge; it simply means that we were authorized, at the time of their pre-order, to charge their card at a later date. If this column has a 0 in it, that means that we did actually charge them, and you can provide them with a receipt or download link from your customers. 

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us